Terms used in official statistics

View QR Code A A A save as pdf print

National and ethnic minorities


A group of Polish citizens which is less numerous than the rest of the population of Poland; it significantly differs from other citizens in its language, culture or tradition and strives to preserve them; it is aware of its own historical national or ethnic community; in the case of a national minority, it identifies itself with a nation organized in its own state. In Poland, the following minorities are recognized as national minorities: Belarusian, Czech, Lithuanian, German, Armenian, Russian, Slovak, Ukrainian and Jewish, and as ethnic minorities: Karaim, Lemko, Roma and Tatar. The Kashubian language is deemed a regional language.

Contact person on methodology:
Urząd Statystyczny w Krakowie