Development Cooperation

View QR Code A A A save as pdf print

Polish development cooperation is regulated by The Development Cooperation Act of
16 September 2011, as amended
(the consolidated text published in Journal of Laws 2020, item 1648). Under the Act, development cooperation is defined as all actions taken by government administration agencies, pursuant to international solidarity principle, to provide developing countries with:

  1. development aid which consists in promoting and supporting the development of democracy and civil society, supporting sustainable socio-economic development, undertaking activities aimed at reducing poverty and improving the health condition of the population, and increasing the level of education and professional qualifications of the population,
  2. humanitarian aid with the aim for ensuring assistance, care and protection to the population affected by armed conflicts, natural disasters or other humanitarian crises,
  3. support for "global education" to raise awareness and understanding of global issues and interdependencies between countries.

Currently, the basis for activities is the effective strategic document The Multiannual Development Cooperation Programme 2021-2030 - Solidarity for Development that, among others, defines geographical and thematic priorities of the Polish Aid. The document makes clear references to the UN 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development and its priorities are based on the Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs). The Programme specifies the following priorities:

  • peace, justice and strong institutions,
  • equal opportunities (quality education, decent work, entrepreneurship, reduction of inequalities, sustainable cities, regional development planning and rural areas development),
  • health,
  • climate and natural resources (clean water and sanitation, forests and biodiversity, renewable energy sources).


Ten countries are currently priority countries of Polish aid, i.e. four countries in the Eastern Partnership (Belarus, Georgia, Moldova and Ukraine) and six countries in Africa, Asia and the Middle East (Ethiopia, Kenya, Lebanon, Palestine, Senegal, Tanzania).

The operating documents for the Multiannual Development Cooperation Programme are the annual cooperation development plans that define the detailed forms of cooperation and activities related to development cooperation, humanitarian aid, and global education.

Since 2011 Statistics Poland has been providing active support for the development of partner countries statistical systems and improving their functioning in the framework of the Polish development cooperation.


For more information about the development cooperation, please visit:


Solidarity for Development, Multiannual Development Cooperation Programme 2021 - 2030

2021 Development Cooperation Plan


2022 Development Cooperation Plan


Polish Development Cooperation Act 2011