

# KTS units and their symbols

嬲 卜員

The KTS system divides Poland into territorial and hierarchically related units at seven levels. The division as at 1 January 2025 consists of 4446 KTS units:

- KTS 0 level Poland (the whole country)
- KTS 1 level 7 macroregions (grouping voivodships)
- KTS 2 level 16 voivodships
- KTS 3 level 17 regions (voivodships or parts of a voivodship)
- KTS 4 level 73 subregions (grouping powiats)
- KTS 5 level 380 powiats (including cities with powiat status)
- KTS 6 level 3952 gminas and their parts (2479 gminas, 718 urban parts of urban-rural gminas, 718 rural parts of urban-rural gminas, 18 districts of Warsaw and 19 representations of four cities – Kraków, Łódź, Poznań and Wrocław)

# List of KTS units (as of 1 January 2025)

## Transition table between TERYT and KTS codes

Each element of the KTS system consists of a numerical symbol (a code) supplemented by the type designation of the given unit and its name. The unit symbol in the KTS system always consists of 14 signs (regardless of the territorial level of this unit, codes of higher levels units are replenished with zeroes up to 14 signs), individual digits of the code are attributed to a given administrative or statistical level:

### ×

- 1st part (2 digits) code for Poland (10)
- 2nd part (2 digits) -macroregion code (numbers from 01 for makroregion poludniowy to 07 for makroregion mazowieckie voivodship; the order of macroregions in accordance with their order contained in the NUTS Regulation)
- 3rd part (2 digits) voivodship code (from the TERYT Register)
- 4th part (1 digit) region code (in the case of 15 voivodships figure 1, in mazowieckie voivodship figure 1 or 2)
- 5th part (2 digits) subregion code (continuous numbering for all subregions in the country; maintained subregions order used in the NTS nomenclature: numbers from 01 for jeleniogórski subregion, the last number – 73 – was assigned to newly established żyrardowski subregion)
- 6th part (2 digits) powiat code (from the TERYT Register)
- 7th part (2 digits) gmina/part of gmina code (from the TERYT Register)
- 8th part (1 digit) type of unit code (from the TERYT Register)

#### Comparison of exemplary symbols (codes) and names of KTS, TERYT and NUTS units:

KTS			TERYT		NUTS	
100000000000000	POLSKA		-		-	
10010000000000	POŁUDNIOWY	makroregion	_		PL2	MAKROREGION POŁUDNIOWY
10011200000000	Małopolskie	województwo	12	WOJ. MAŁOPOLSKIE	_	
10011210000000	Małopolskie	region	-		PL21	Małopolskie
10011212300000	Oświęcimski	podregion	-		PL21A	Oświęcimski
10011212312000	olkuski	powiat	1212	Powiat olkuski	-	
10011212312032	Bolesław	gmina wiejska	121203 2	Bolesław	-	

The KTS system update is made after each change in statistical units as well as after changes introduced in the system of identifiers and names of territorial division units (TERC) – part of the TERYT Register. When updating the KTS system codes, the rules are applied in accordance with the TERC system update rules, stating that:

- newly created statistical division units receive a symbol in the order after the last one, within the figures provided for the given division level and the type of unit;
- symbols of abolished statistical units are excluded both from the set of symbols and the names of statistical units. Moreover, these symbols cannot be used again;
- the change of the name and boundaries of the statistical unit does not change its symbol;
- transfer of a statistical unit to another unit of a higher statistical division requires changing the code of the transferred unit and its constituent units.