

## NUTS 2010 revision (binding since 1 January 2012 to 31 December 2014)





Commission Regulation (EU) No 31/2011 of 17 January 2011 amending annexes to Regulation (EC) No 1059/2003 of the European Parliament and of the Council on the establishment of a common classification of territorial units for statistics (NUTS) (OJ L 13, 18.1.2011, p. 3–54) was published in the Official Journal of the European Union at the beginning of 2011. This regulation is the result of the second round of revision of the common Classification of Territorial Units for Statistics (NUTS), known as NUTS 2010 revision. During this revision round, modifications of the statistical units of 5 EU Member States were made. These modifications include either changes in the number of NUTS units or in unit boundaries only, without altering the number of units. During this round of revision, changes related to the statistical division in Poland have not occurred.

Statistical division of Poland

During the NUTS 2010 round of revision, no changes related to the statistical division of Poland have occurred. The NUTS division determined during the 2006 revision was still valid, i.e. into 6 NUTS level 1 regions, 16 NUTS level 2 voivodships and 66 NUTS level 3 subregions.

The list of NUTS 2010 units in Poland (as of 1 January 2012)



The division of Poland into NUTS level 1 units in NUTS 2010 revision



The division of Poland into NUTS level 2 units in NUTS 2010 revision



The division of Poland into NUTS level 3 units in NUTS 2010 revision

Changes adopted in statistical divisions of other EU countries

Changes introduced by the NUTS 2010 revision also apply to five other European Union countries – in one of them at the NUTS level 1, in four of them at NUTS level 2 and in five of them at NUTS level 3. Moreover, in 10 countries adjustments to the names of NUTS units (in order to unify their naming convention) were made, while in the case of Greece, the letter code used for that country was changed.

• Finland: the change of the division at the NUTS level 2 consisted of the division of one unit into two new ones and merging two existing units into one (the number of units of this level was not changed); at the NUTS level 3 the number of units was decreased from 20 to 19 as a result of changes in the administrative division of the country (two units were merged);

- Germany: the number of NUTS level 2 units decreased from 39 to 38; the boundaries of two NUTS level 2 units were changed; the number of NUTS level 3 units decreased from 429 to 412;
- Italy: as a result of administrative changes, the number of NUTS level 3 units increased from 107 to 110 and the boundaries of two other units were changed; changes at the NUTS level 3 caused changes in the boundaries between two NUTS level 2 units and two NUTS level 1 units;
- Netherlands: the boundaries of three NUTS level 3 units were changed;
- United Kingdom: the number of NUTS level 3 units increased from 133 to 139, two other NUTS level 3 units modified their boundaries; changes at the NUTS level 3 caused changes in the boundaries between two NUTS level 2 units.

The number of NUTS units in the EU Member States according to NUTS 2010 revision

Country	NUTS 1	NUTS 2	NUTS 3
Austria	3	9	35
Belgium	3	11	44
Bulgaria	2	6	28
Cyprus	1	1	1
Czech Republic	1	8	14
Denmark	1	5	11
Estonia	1	1	5
Finland	2	5	19
France	9	26	100
Germany	16	38	412
Greece	4	13	51
Hungary	3	7	20
Ireland	1	2	8
Italy	5	21	110
Latvia	1	1	6
Lithuania	1	1	10
Luxembourg	1	1	1
Malta	1	1	2
Netherlands	4	12	40
Poland	6	16	66
Portugal	3	7	30
Romania	4	8	42
Slovakia	1	4	8
Slovenia	1	2	12
Spain	7	19	59
Sweden	3	8	21
United Kingdom	12	37	139

TOTAL 97	270	1294	
----------	-----	------	--

The list of NUTS 2010 revision units in the EU Member States